Market Mixx Blog Home

Seven Fishes



Dec 12th, 2015

Fish with lime and onion

The Feast of Seven Fishes, celebrated on Christmas Eve, also known as The Vigil, is believed to have originated in Southern Italy and is not a known tradition in many parts of Italy.
Today, it is a completely Italian-American feast that typically consists of seven different seafood dishes.
Some Italian American families have been known to celebrate with 9, 11 or 13 different seafood dishes.

This celebration is a commemoration of the wait, Vigilia di Natale, for the midnight birth of the baby Jesus.

The components to the meal are similar for most families as there are always some combination of anchovies, sardines, salted cod fish (Baccalà), smelts, eels, squid (Calamari), octopus, shrimp, mussels, and clams.

Here are the items you should be aware of & have on hand for your customers celebrating the Feast of the Seven Fishes.

  • Baccalà Cod
  • Clams
  • Eel
  • Calamari
  • Octopus
  • Whiting
  • Crab
  • Smelts
  • Oysters
  • Shrimp
  • Scallops
  • Mussels
  • Flounder
  • Tilapia


Check out some of these great recipes to help you plan your feast.


Pan Seared Poppy Seed Crusted Bay Scallop Salad with Romesco





Steamed Mussels & Artichokes with Hazelnut Gremolata


Spring Thyme Salmon


Mediterranean Herb Crusted Tilapia


Vanilla Shrimp Crostini 


Clams and Chorizo with Smoked Paprika Butter Sauce


Cranberry Sage Mini Crab Cakes


2 Responses to Seven Fishes

  1. SB 17/12/2015 at 2:04 pm

    Seven Fish & Vanilla Shrimp Crostini Appealing , Omg

  2. Jackie 22/12/2015 at 7:40 am

    Thank you for sending this. Great recipes for the Christmas Eve tradition!

Leave a Reply


Deals on items you buy &
More ways to use your rewards!